Funky Cover Friday

I was having a hard time picking today’s cover. There are so many covers that I like, but there are rarely covers that I love. And I sometime get stuck in that spot where I can’t think of those covers that have really stuck out to me in the past. This week I had to resort to scrolling through my books on Goodreads. Going through pages and pages, nothing stood out, until I came across this version of James Joyce’s Ulysses. I immediately liked this cover because it’s quirky, fun, and artistic. I love the “s” as the skewed moustache and contrast of the black lettering of “Ulysses” with the white parallel to it. This cover plays so much with shadow and light that what first jumps out at you may not be what’s really important on the cover here. The key is in the details.

What does this cover say to you? Do you love it? Hate it?

338798

Ulysses | James Joyce | Vintage | June 1990 | 9780679722762

Published by wornpagesandink

Hi! I'm Jaaron. I'm a book-obsessed blogger, writer, reader, coffee-drinker, and dog-lover. I have a B.A.H. in English Literature and a post-graduate diploma in Book and Magazine publishing. I've been fortunate to have worked in both trade and educational publishing. If you have any recommendations for excellent reads, let me know!

Leave a comment